Village of Williamsville was incorporated in 1850 and is one of over 550
incorporated Villages chartered by the State of New York. It encompasses an irregular square
mile, most of which lies within the Town of Amherst with its southeast corner in the Town of Cheektowaga.
On May 9, 1983, the Village
of Williamsville Board of Trustees
adopted a Historic Preservation Code, the purpose of which is to promote
the awareness of landmarks of historic, cultural, social and architectural
significance in the Village
of Williamsville and
to safe guard the heritage, character and quality of life unique to the
Village through the preservation of these landmarks.